2014 AMPO Annual Conference Recap

The 2014 AMPO Annual Conference presentations are now available and can be viewed here

Recap of the event:

The AMPO Annual Conference, held October 21 – 24,  brought together MPO staff, Policy Board members, federal and state employees, and consultants who shared information on a variety of MPO issues.

Carlos Monje, the President’s nominee for USDOT Asst. Secretary for Policy on behalf of Sec Foxx, and Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed, welcomed attendees to Atlanta during the Wednesday night Opening Reception.

Monje emphasized the importance of making America’s infrastructure stronger and more reliable to enhance communities, allow more people to join the work force and provide transportation options to improve mobility.

Mayor Reed highlighted transportation successes in the region such as the Atlanta Beltline and Atlanta Streetcar. His compelling remarks emphasized the important role MPOs have in strengthening our cities for the betterment of our nation.

Myron Gray, the president of U.S. operations for UPS, delivered this year’s Keynote Address. Gray’s speech, “Building Cities on a Foundation of Cooperation,” stressed the importance of collaboration of government, business and the public in the planning process for transportation policy changes.

Monje       Reed       Myron DeLania Oct 2014

Left: Carlos Monje, Presidential nominee for USDOT Asst. Secretary for Policy; Center: Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed; Right: Myron Gray, the president of U.S. operations for UPS with DeLania Hardy, AMPO Executive Director

With a dynamic agenda that included 40 approved AICP CM credits, the AMPO conference showcased a talented group of presenters. Many of their presentations are now available and can be viewed here.

During the 2014 AMPO Awards, MPOs and individuals were honored for advancing their organizations through the planning process and shaping sustainable regions. Congratulations to this year’s winners:

  • The Award for Outstanding Overall Achievement for a TMA MPO was awarded to the Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments in Colorado Springs for its Moving Forward 2035 Update RTP.
  • The Award for Outstanding Overall Achievement for a non-TMA MPO was awarded to Chittenden County Regional Planning Commission in Burlington, Vermont.
  • The Award for Outstanding Elected Official Leadership was awarded to Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone.
  • The Ronald F. Kirby National Award for Outstanding Individual Leadership was awarded to Jane Hayse from the Atlanta Regional Commission.

Thank you to all of our honored guests, moderators, speakers, sponsors, and attendees.

Finally, AMPO would like to thank our host, the Atlanta Regional Commission, for all of their support and hard work before and during the conference. We hope all of our attendees enjoyed their stay and were able to experience the city of Atlanta.

Save the Date:
2015 AMPO Annual Conference
October 20 – 23, 2015
Westin Las Vegas