2018 AMPO Annual Conference


2018 AMPO Annual Conference, September 24-28, San Antonio, TX

Thank you for attending 2018 AMPO Annual Conference

The 2018 AMPO Annual Conference Presentations are now available.

The 2018 AMPO Annual Conference was held September 24 – 28, 2018 in San Antonio, Texas. It brought together MPO staff, Policy Board members, federal and state employees, and consultants who shared information on a variety of MPO issues.

Shailen P. Bhatt, President and CEO of the Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America) gave the Keynote address.

With a dynamic agenda that included 45 approved AICP credits, the AMPO conference showcased a talented group of presenters.

During the 2018 AMPO Awards, MPOs and individuals were honored for advancing their organizations through the planning process and shaping sustainable regions. Congratulations to this year’s winners:

  • Outstanding Overall Achievement for a TMA MPO: Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission
  • Outstanding Overall Achievement for a non-TMA MPO: Northeast Arkansas Regional Transportation Planning Commission
  • Excellence in MPO Coordination & Partnership: Memphis Urban Area MPO
  • Outstanding Elected Official Leadership: Mayor John Gayle, City of Valdosta, Georgia
  • Excellence in MPO Staff Achievement: Robert E. Griffiths, Metropolitan Washington COG
  • The Ronald F. Kirby National Award for Outstanding Individual Leadership: Ronald Milone, Metropolitan Washington COG

Thank you to all of our honored guests, moderators, speakers, sponsors, and attendees. Be sure to visit AMPO’s Flickr album to view photos from this year’s event!

Finally, AMPO would like to thank our host MPO, the Alamo Area MPO, for all of their support and hard work before and during the conference. We hope all of our attendees enjoyed their stay and were able to fully experience all that San Antonio, Texas has to offer.

Save the Date:
2019 AMPO Annual Conference in Baltimore, MD!
October 21 – 25, 2019