

December 5, 2008

Board of Directors 2008

President Honorable John Rowell Fargo-Moorhead Metro COG Fargo, ND

Vice President Lon Wyrick Thurston RPC Olympia, WA

Secretary Steve Heminger MTC Oakland, CA

Treasurer Tyler Meyer Greensboro MPO Greensboro, NC

Honorable Phil Mendelson MWCOG - TPB Washington, DC

Honorable William Crosby B-C-D COG North Charleston, SC

Honorable Rex Burkholder Metro Portland, OR

Honorable Joe Pickett El Paso MPO El Paso, TX

Lucie Ayer Hillsborough County MPO Tampa, FL

Dear Representative:

We, the undersigned, are writing to urge you to protect metropolitan transportation planning funding from a misinterpretation of budget rescission provisions in recently enacted energy legislation. President Bush signed into law the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 ("EISA"), Pub. L. 110- 140, on December 19, 2007. Included in EISA are provisions that require any rescission of federal budget authority to be spread across all core programs. This was enacted to prevent budget rescission from being solely applied to Congestion Mitigation Air Quality (CMAQ) funds, as is the practice by some states.

Current interpretations by some state departments of transportation and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) include planning as a separate "program" subject to funding rescissions. Since planning funds are derived as a percentage set aside from core programs, this position threatens to undermine the ability of many metropolitan areas to meet federal requirements for transportation planning. Some MPOs are now facing the hard reality of staff reductions. Prior to enactment of EISA, states had not rescinded planning funds. We believe that alongside critical programs like safety, the practice until recently pointed to the importance of planning in the very nature that the funds were not repealed.

AMPO has asked FHWA to issue guidance to the States acknowledging the statutory standing of planning under Title 23 as a funding set aside and not as a separate program subject to additional rescissions over and above reductions to core programs. FHWA reiterated its interpretation that rescissions apply to core programs and planning apportionments. However, FHWA noted that State Planning and Research (SPR) funds are not subject to rescission. SPR and planning funds support similar activities although one is at the state level and the other at the metropolitan level.

We urge Congress to clarify the fact that metropolitan planning should be excluded from the programmatic rescissions required under the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 by amending the last sentence of Section 1132(a) of the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Pub. L. 110-140, to read as follows.

"Planning funds distributed under chapter 1 of title 23 shall not be considered a program for which funds are apportioned for purposes of this paragraph and shall not be subject to rescission under this section or other rescission of apportioned funds."

We urge congress to take timely action on this issue. We look forward to working with vou.

Suzanne Burnette Executive Director

Lee-Russell Council of Governments

Opelika, AL

Ken O'Donnell

Director

Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Organization

Fort Smith, AR

Muhammad Amin Ulkarim

Director

Jonesboro Metropolitan Planning

Organization Jonesboro, AR

Mack Luckie Executive Director

Yuma Metropolitan Planning Organization

Yuma, AZ

Steven Heminger Executive Director

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Oakland, CA

Jennifer Schaufele Executive Director

Denver Regional Council of Governments

Denver, CO

Cliff Davidson Executive Director

North Front Range Metropolitan Planning

Organization Fort Collins, CO

Todd Hollenbeck

Director

Regional Transportation Planning Office

Grand Junction, CO

Howard Glassman Executive Director

Florida MPO Advisory Council

Tallahassee, FL

Charles Krautler Executive Director

Atlanta Regional Commission

Atlanta, GA

Matthew J. Stoll Executive Director

Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho (COMPASS)

Meridian, ID

Steve Ernst Director

Rockford Metropolitan Agency for Planning

Rockford, IL

Harvey S. Bloom

Director

Baltimore Regional Transportation Board

Baltimore, MD

Andrew Clements

Director

St. Joseph Area Transportation Study

Organization St. Joseph, MO

Jacob Snow General Manager

Regional Transportation Commission of

Southern Nevada Las Vegas, NV

Vicki Guarino Manager

Rogue Valley Metropolitan Planning

Organization Central Point, OR

Barry Seymour Executive Director

Delaware Valley Regional Planning

Commission Philadelphia, PA

Jeff Welch Director

Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning

Organization Knoxville, TN

Karen Owen Director

Longview Metropolitan Planning

Organization Longview, TX

Andrew Canon

Director

Hidalgo County Metropolitan Planning

Organization Weslaco, TX

Chuck Chappell Executive Director

Wasatch Front Regional Council

Salt Lake City, UT

Lowell Elmer Director Dixie Transportation Planning Office Five County Association of Governments St. George, UT

Steve Harvey Director Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Council of Governments Kelso, WA

Lon D. Wyrick Executive Director Thurston Regional Planning Council Olympia, WA

Bob Drewel Executive Director Puget Sound Regional Council Seattle, WA

J. Page Scott Executive Director Yakima Valley Conference of Governments Yakima, WA

Tom Mason Director Cheyenne Metropolitan Planning Organization Cheyenne, WY