Election Bios

Please see the bios below for the upcoming election for the AMPO Board, AMPO President and Vice President. Additional information will be sent on the election process.

For the Association of MPOs’ 2019-2021 Class for the Board of Directors—

The elected persons for these seats will serve 3 years on the AMPO Board. There are 6 candidates for the 4 open seats:

Craig Lyon is the Transportation Planning Manager for the Municipality of Anchorage’s Planning Department. Craig has served as the Coordinator for AMATS since July 2003. Prior to that he worked as a legislative aide in the Alaska Legislature. His professional responsibilities include development of the Transportation Improvement Program (programming of federal highway funding) and the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP). He oversees the professional planning staff of AMATS. During his tenure with AMATS he has worked to increase citizen involvement in transportation planning by coordinating the creation of a Freight Advisory Committee, and Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee and a revamped Citizens Advisory Committee.

He holds a BA in Government from Norwich University and a BA in Elementary Education from UAA. A lifelong Alaskan, Mr. Lyon serves on the Board of Directors of the Association of Metropolitan Planning Organization and is the Secretary for the Board.   When he isn’t involved in transportation planning he enjoys all that Alaska has to offer with his wife and 4 children and especially likes spoiling his 3 grandchildren whenever he gets the chance.

Amy Cummings, AICP, LEED AP, is the Deputy Executive Director/Planning Director of the Regional Transportation Commission of  Washoe County (RTC) in Reno, NV. Amy joined the RTC in 2010 as the Director of Planning and became the Deputy Executive Director in 2018.  RTC is the MPO, provides transit service and builds regional roads for the Reno-Sparks region in Washoe County, Nevada. The RTC implements a performance-based transportation planning program that is founded on community outreach and engagement.  Prior to joining RTC, Amy was the Nevada Planning Manager for Parsons Brinckerhoff.  Amy has an undergraduate degree in history from Florida State University, a Master of Community Planning from the University of Maryland at College Park, and a master’s degree in from the University of Nevada, Reno with a focus on transportation and urban history. She is a certified planner through the American Institute of Certified Planners and is a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) accredited professional.  She has served on the AMPO Policy Committee since 2012.

Ashby Johnson is the Executive Director of the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO), which is the metropolitan planning organization for the six-county central Texas region and has served in that capacity since August 2014. Ashby also served as the Deputy MPO Director at the Houston-Galveston Area Council, which is the transportation planning agency for the eight-county greater Houston region for the preceding 11 years. Prior to H-GAC, he spent eight years with the Federal Highway Administration’s Office of Planning and one year with the Federal Transit Administration’s Office of Planning. Prior to USDOT, Ashby spent five years with the Texas Department of Transportation in the Environmental Affairs Division. He holds a Bachelors degree in Government and a Masters in Community and Regional Planning from the University of Texas at Austin.

James Stack has been the Executive Director of the Genesee Transportation Council in Rochester, NY since January 2016. Prior to being appointed Executive Director, Jim served as the Assistant Director for 14 years and has been with GTC for 19 years. Prior to GTC, Jim was a Transportation Planner for the Central Connecticut Regional Planning Agency in Bristol, CT. Jim has over 25 years of transportation planning experience. Jim’s transportation experience includes transit and corridor studies, area studies, data collection and management, project management, managing projects conducted by consultants, managing a capital program, air quality analysis, developing operations budgets, and managing other personnel. He is familiar with all aspects of MPO operations. Jim holds a Masters of Public Administration from the State University of New York at Brockport and a Bachelor’s degree in Geography from the University of Connecticut.

Matt Johns is currently the Executive Director of the Rapides Area Planning Commission and has 14 years of planning experience between the Rapides Area Planning Commission and the Louisiana DOTD. He also serves as a policy committee member of the national Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations and was recently appointed to the Standing Committee on Transportation Planning for Small and Medium-Sized Communities on the Transportation Research Board. Matt has a bachelor’s degree in Public Administration from Louisiana College and obtained his professional planning certification from the American Institute of Certified Planners.

Pragati Srivastava is the Director of the Memphis Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), a Bi- State MPO, covering 4 counties in Tennessee and Mississippi.  She has served as the Director of the Memphis MPO since 2011 and is responsible for multimodal Long Range Transportation Planning for the Memphis MPO region. She serves more than 1 million residents of the Memphis MPO region and works closely with the 29 member Policy Board, comprising of various local, State and Federal agencies. She formerly served as the Principal Transportation Planner for the Memphis MPO where she was responsible for managing the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) and managed various transportation planning studies. Pragati received a Bachelor’s Degree in Architecture and Master’s Degree in Urban and Rural Planning from India. Additionally, she also holds a Master’s degree in Community and Regional Planning from the University of Texas, at Austin.


For office of President of the Association of MPOs—

The AMPO President’s term is one year. This person may run for one more year following. In both cases, the term is one year.  There is one person for one seat.

Craig Lyon, **see above**


For office of Vice President of the Association of MPO—

The AMPO Vice President’s term is one year. This person may run for one more year following. In both cases, the term is one year.  There is one person for one seat.

Todd Lang is the Director of Transportation Planning at the Baltimore Metropolitan Council which serves as staff to the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization representing the 2.6 million residents of the Baltimore Region. As Director, Mr. Lang oversees the MPO work program including development of the region’s short and long range transportation plans and the recently completed fifty year regional visioning process. Mr. Lang has a Bachelor’s in Civil Engineering, a Master’s in Business Administration (Finance) and a Certificate in Environmental Planning. He is a registered Professional Engineer and is a Certified Planner. Mr. Lang also currently serves on the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) Metropolitan Planning Subcommittee.